Monday, October 17, 2005

USC Wins When Push Comes to Shove

Yet another reason to have a former NFL coach guiding your college team. Officials say yes, Reggie Bush's push of Matt Leinart into the end zone (above) was a violation of the rules, as reported here Saturday. Coach Pete Carroll tells the Los Angeles Times he had seen the penalty called in the NFL, but not in the college game (wink, wink). So what was it like to be in Notre Dame Stadium in the final seconds? An enterprising fan (a future attorney, of course) smuggled a video camera into the stadium and the footage has found its way onto the Internet. It is shot from the Notre Dame student section, on the opposite side of the closing act. There are two clips. The first shows the play before Leinart scores and fans streaming onto the field, only to be ushered off. The second shows the stunned reaction when Leinart scores with the assist from Bush. Be careful of clip No. 2. It contains profanity, punishable by having to recite 10 Hail Marys.

12 comments:

Anonymous said...

Why you dissin' USC? You are jelous because they have a superior team. Neener, neener, neener!

TigerSmack said...

is there any resource online to determine if, in fact, that penalty is ever called in college, and if so how often?

Anonymous said...

Please see section 3 article 2b of the 2005 college football rules book, it states:

2b. The runner shall not grasp a teammate; and no other player of his team shall grasp, push, lift or charge into him to assist him in forward progress.

PENALTY: Five yards from the basic spot.

Enjoy!

The rulebook is here: http://www.ncaa.org/library/rules/2005/2005_football_rules.pdf

Anonymous said...

At the beginning of the game, NBC televised a shot of Reggie Bush sitting on a bench on the sideline applying some type of liquid to his legs. Does anyone know what that was?

Anonymous said...

I believe that was Nair.

Anonymous said...

if you pay attention to that game closely, Quinn did quarterback sneaks several times with the help from his peers, including one from ND's 29 yard with a 4th down. Officials just don't call it in the college games!

Anonymous said...

Wow, didn't realize you'd gotten permission from me to use the photo... It's copyrighted and needs to come down.

Anonymous said...

I think ND fans should also refer to Rule 2, Section 3, Article 4A of the NCAA rulebook about blocking in the back. (This is a rule that IS actually enforced.) ND very obviously got away with it for their punt return for a TD, which gave them seven points.

So, sorry Charlie, but the calls went both ways.

dawizofodds said...

From the Wizard:

To the person who says this is a copyright photo, would you please email directly and identify yourself (dawizofodds@aol.com). We will be happy to comply, but need more specifics as to your identity, where the photo was first posted and copyright restrictions that were associated with that posting. This photo has been spotted on several other sites and no copyright or permission status has appeared with those postings.

Anonymous said...

Put USC in the SEC or ACC and do they threepeat? I don't think so!

Anonymous said...

have a playoff and find out who the real champion is

Anonymous said...

Ponder this... USC falls to insterstate rivals UCLA and/or Cal and we have the rematch of the century. USC-ND II "THE REMATCH". Assuming USC loses one game this year, and ND wins out, who wouldn't want to see this game except for USC and USC fans. I for one would be first in line for those tickets.