Monday, November 13, 2006
Pete Carroll Drops the F Bomb
Did USC's Pete Carroll tell Oregon's Mike Bellotti to ... well, you make the call. Carroll is caught reacting to a "reversal of a previous reversal" in Saturday's victory against the Ducks. In what might the one of the most bizarre incidents this season with instant replay, Carroll challenged a fourth-quarter touchdown catch by Oregon's Jonathan Stewart, claiming the running back had gone out of bounds before catching the ball, making Stewart ineligible. Carroll won and the touchdown was negated. Bellotti then argued that the ball was tipped before Stewart caught it. A receiver who runs out of bounds can return in bounds and catch a pass if the ball has been tipped. The replay officials took another look and ruled in Bellotti's favor. Then we get the above response from Carroll. Was it directed at Bellotti? Thanks to Bert!
Posted by dawizofodds at 3:13 AM