Monday, November 13, 2006

Pete Carroll Drops the F Bomb


Did USC's Pete Carroll tell Oregon's Mike Bellotti to ... well, you make the call. Carroll is caught reacting to a "reversal of a previous reversal" in Saturday's victory against the Ducks. In what might the one of the most bizarre incidents this season with instant replay, Carroll challenged a fourth-quarter touchdown catch by Oregon's Jonathan Stewart, claiming the running back had gone out of bounds before catching the ball, making Stewart ineligible. Carroll won and the touchdown was negated. Bellotti then argued that the ball was tipped before Stewart caught it. A receiver who runs out of bounds can return in bounds and catch a pass if the ball has been tipped. The replay officials took another look and ruled in Bellotti's favor. Then we get the above response from Carroll. Was it directed at Bellotti? Thanks to Bert!

5 comments:

CrazyTrojan said...

Even after reviewing the play for over 15 minutes, bringing the game to a screeching halt, the refs still might have made the wrong call. The ball was definitely tipped first, but the Oregon player who appeared to tip the ball also went out of bounds before the tip, thereby making the tip an illegal touch. I guess the refs thought a USC player tipped the ball first, but it didn't look like it (they showed at least 10 replays during the confusion).

Carroll is NOT a fan of replay.

Anonymous said...

Belloti knew the Ducks were about to fade into oblivion on the CFB stage, so he decided to grab as much unwarranted attention as he could -- not to mention using his two timeouts at the end of garbage time. How typical of the Ducks and their coach! LOL!!

Bruce said...

Shocking.... a football coach used the f bomb? This just in.... water is wet.

BDoc said...

If Carroll chewed that gum any harder his jaw would crack.

Good catch on the F-U's.

Zach Landres-Schnur said...

somewhere bob stoops is swearing at belotti too.