Monday, October 17, 2005
USC Wins When Push Comes to Shove
Yet another reason to have a former NFL coach guiding your college team. Officials say yes, Reggie Bush's push of Matt Leinart into the end zone (above) was a violation of the rules, as reported here Saturday. Coach Pete Carroll tells the Los Angeles Times he had seen the penalty called in the NFL, but not in the college game (wink, wink). So what was it like to be in Notre Dame Stadium in the final seconds? An enterprising fan (a future attorney, of course) smuggled a video camera into the stadium and the footage has found its way onto the Internet. It is shot from the Notre Dame student section, on the opposite side of the closing act. There are two clips. The first shows the play before Leinart scores and fans streaming onto the field, only to be ushered off. The second shows the stunned reaction when Leinart scores with the assist from Bush. Be careful of clip No. 2. It contains profanity, punishable by having to recite 10 Hail Marys.
Posted by dawizofodds at 2:53 AM