Saturday, October 15, 2005
Did USC Cheat and Win at Notre Dame?
It's history now, but did USC's Reggie Bush, left, commit an infraction when he helped push Matt Leinart into the end zone for the winning touchdown with three seconds left in the Trojans' 34-31 victory? According to the NCAA Football Rules Book, he did. Bush even acknowledged as much afterward. “I used all 200 pounds of my body to push Matt in,” he said. Rule 9, Section 3, Article 2B states: "The runner shall not grasp a teammate; and no other player of his team shall grasp, push, lift or charge into him to assist him in forward progress." The penalty for such an infraction is five yards from the basic spot. And on the previous play, what was up with the spot of the ball? Instead of being at the three-yard line (where the ball appeared to fly out of bounds after being fumbled by Leinart), it was put inside the one. We hear it was a Pac-10 crew, by the way.
Posted by dawizofodds at 7:34 PM